Andover Cricket Club 2nd XI (Sat) v Havant II on Sat 11 May 2019 at 13:00
Andover Cricket Club Won By 5 wickets

Match report Nordlock sponsored Andover II’s began the season with an assured 5 wicket victory against Havant II’s. Andover’s captain James Knight elected to bowl first on a damp-looking wicket and the decision paid immediate dividends with Olly Cox (2-24) making two early breakthroughs, including the prized scalp of Havant skipper Andrew Ransley. Wickets fell in regular intervals throughout the Havant innings thanks to the standout bowler Morgan Vanandel (4-41) and an impressive spell from debutant Arun Ganesh (2-19). With Havant's only resistance coming from opener Julian Atkins (54) they were bundled out in the 38th over for 148.

In reply Andover’s Stuart Summers (21) started the innings off in his typical gung-ho style, before being dismissed by the impressive Havant paceman Alfie Taw (1-20). Two comical run outs and the dismissal of fellow opener Ashok Nautiyal left Andover in a precarious position at 66-4. However, youth graduates Sam Pope (68) and Oliver Cox (22*) stabilised the innings and then accelerated to bring them the home team within touching distance of the target. Pope’s dismissal for an classy 61 brought the experience of Andy Sale to the crease who sealed the win for Andover. A fantastic start to the season for the Town, who start their County Division one campaign with a win.

Andover Cricket Club 2nd XI (Sat) Batting
Player Name RunsMB4s6sSRCtStRo
for 5 wickets

(28.3 overs)
Stuart SUMMERS Bowled  22
Ashok NAUTIYAL Caught  0
Kelum WATTA Run out  0
Sam POPE Bowled  61
Max SOUTER Run out  11
Olly COX Not Out  22
Andy SALE Run out  5
Arun Ganesh  
James KNIGHT  

Havant II Bowling

Player nameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy
No records to display.

Havant II Batting
Player name RMB4s6sSR
for 10 wickets
148 (38.0 overs)

Andover Cricket Club 2nd XI (Sat) Bowling

Player NameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy
Morgan VANANDEL6.4041410.256.15
Olly COX8.0124212.003.00
Max SOUTER7.0039139.005.57
Kelum WATTA5.02400.000.80
James KNIGHT4.01717.001.75
Arun Ganesh8.011929.502.37

  • Umpire :
  • Scorer :
    Trevor Powell