Andover Cricket Club 1st XI (Sat) v Lymington on Sat 10 Jun 2017 at 11.00am
Andover Cricket Club Lost by 5 wickets

Match report Nordlock sponsored Andover first XI entertained Lymington at London Road in the latest round of the Southern Premier League. Andover were searching for their second to lift them from the foot of the table.

Skipper Matt Hooper was invited to bat first and the Andover innings got off to the worst possible start losing Matt Knight and Dave Watson in quick succession to some probing deliveries from the Lymington opening bowlers. Glyn Treagus (19) attempted to steady the Andover innings with a series of flowing boundaries but was then trapped LBW leaving Andover reeling at 30 for 3. Sherwin Govender and overseas star Chamika Karunaratne set about rebuilding the innings. The pair were resolute in defence and between them were able to see off the Lymington opening bowlers. The pair then set about counter attacking against the Lymington first change attack. Govender in particular hit a series of flowing boundaries as Andover looked to wrestle back control of the innings. Together the pair took the score up to 100 off 30 overs before Govender (35) was caught at mid wicket. New man Max Souter joined Karunaratne and the pair took Andover 120 for 4 at the lunch break.

After the lunch break Andover suffered a double setback losing Souter (2) and Karunaratne (57) in quick succession. Skipper Matt Hooper and Harry Blackburn set about rebuilding the innings. The pair batted sensibly, displaying a range of shots to take the score up to 180 before Hooper (23) was caught at slip. Blackburn (35) took the score past 200 before he was bowled by Metcalfe. Some powerful lower order hitting from Veettil (26) and Adams (17) took the score up to 240.

Lymington's opening batsmen Lake and Rogers were in no mood to hang about and they attacked the Andover opening bowlers. Displaying some powerful strokeplay, they managed to take 80 off the first 10 overs of the innings. Hooper changed the bowlers introducing himself and Babu Veettil into the attack. The pair between them stemmed the flow of runs and Lymington reached 100 of 15 overs at the tea break.

Andover knew they needed to strike early after the tea break and skipper Matt Hooper duly delivered bowling Rogers for 63 with a turning delivery. Danny Foy then removed opener Lake thanks to an exceptional outfield catch from overseas star Karunaratne. Karunaratne sprinted 10 yards to his left and pulled off a full stretch dive to take one of the finest catches ever seen at London Road. With Lymington at 120 for 2, Andover were back in the game. Dorset stars Ryan Scott and Ed Ellis steadied the ship for Lymington and the pair took the score 170. Hooper introduced Karunaratne back into the attack and he produced a fiery spell. He first removed Ellis for 22 and then produced an extremely quick bouncer which new batsmen Hand could only fend off to the slips. Babu Veettil also struck to leave lymington requiring 40 more runs with 5 wickets remaining to leave the game finally poised. However, Dorset star Scott (75*) batted sensibly as Lymington chased down the remaining 40 runs to consign Andover to defeat.

Andover to travel to Alton on Saturday as they looked to record a second win of the season.

Andover Cricket Club 1st XI (Sat) Batting
Player Name RunsMB4s6sSRCtStRo
for 10 wickets

(57.3 overs)
David WATSON ct  Lake 4
Matt KNIGHT lbw  Lake 2 2
Glyn TREAGUS lbw  Metcalfe 14
Chamika KARUNARATNE ct  Beetham 57 1
Sherwin Devin GOVENDER ct  Beetham 35
Harry BLACKBURN b  Metcalfe 35
Max SOUTER ct  Layman 2
Matthew HOOPER ct  Woodward 23
Mike ADAMS ct  Metcalfe 17
Babu VEETTIL ct  Layman 26
Danny FOY Not Out  2

Lymington Bowling

Player nameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy

Lymington Batting
Player name RMB4s6sSR
for 5 wickets
241 (43.3 overs)
Lake ct  Foy 65
Rogers b  Hooper 62
Scott Not Out  73
Ellis ct  Karunaratne 22
Hand ct  Karunaratne 1
Beetham ct  Veettil 0
Metcalfe Not Out  7

Andover Cricket Club 1st XI (Sat) Bowling

Player NameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy
Chamika KARUNARATNE10.3068234.006.48
Mike ADAMS4.002800.007.00
Babu VEETTIL9.0046146.005.11
Matthew HOOPER9.0046146.005.11
Danny FOY10.0038138.003.80
Sherwin Devin GOVENDER1.00800.008.00

  • Umpire :
  • Scorer :
    Lesley Morgan