Andover Cricket Club 1st XI (Sun) v 2nd Round T20 Cup on Sun 09 Jul 2017 at 3:00pm
Andover Cricket Club Lost Lost by 8 wickets

Match report Nordlock sponsored Andover entertained fellow Southern Premier league outfit Havant in the next round of the Southern League T20 cup competition. Andover were some of their regular first team players while Havant brought a full strength side to London Road.

Stand in skipper Glyn Treagus won the toss and elected to bat first on what appeared to be a spin friendly surface. The Andover chase started positively as opener Richard Taylor lofted the first ball of the innings over mid-off for a boundary. Together with fellow opener Martin Roberts, the pair looked to exploit the early fielding restrictions. Taylor carved Havant opening bowler Gorvin another boundary before being bowled for 9 leaving Andover on 15 for 1 after two overs. Glyn Treagus joined Martin Roberts and the pair looked to continue the aggressive mindset. Treagus looked particularly comfortable against the pace hitting a number of boundaries including a vicious cut shot which had the large home crowd purring. Andover reached 40 for 1 off the first 6 overs and Havant turned to spin to attempt to quell the run scoring. This move proved as a mast (erstroke as left arm spinner Chris Morgan removed Treagus (23) and Roberts (17) with consecutive deliveries. Homegrown stars Matt Knight and Josh Ballentine Dykes came to the crease and Havant looked to turn the screw by introducing Hampshire star Brad Taylor into the attack. Taylor showed his class and bowled tightly with number of sharply turning deliveries and proved tough to score off. At the halfway point Andover managed to limp to 65 for 3 of 10 overs.

Ballentine Dykes looked to up the scoring rate and muscled two powerful sweeps off Taylor to the fence, but Andover were still finding runs hard to come by. Disaster then struck as both Knight (6) and Ballentine Dykes (13) were run out to sharp pieces of fielding by Havant. This triggered somewhat of a collapse for Andover as both Blackburn and Soutar were stumped without troubling the scorers. Andover were struggling to post a competitive total at 80 for 7, but hometown hero Mike Adams had other ideas. He struck 3 massive sixes along side a series of fours to almost single-handedly up to 117 off their 20 overs.

Adams and Aidan Jansen took the new ball for Andover and bowled a tight line and length to restrict Havant to 20 off the first 4 overs. The pressure was beginning to mount on Havant, but Hampshire star Taylor lifted the pressure by hitting three successive boundaries off Jansen. Skipper Treagus turned to Richard Taylor and Danny Foy to try to wrestle back control of the innings. Hampshire star Taylor hit Taylor for a straight six but was then bowled by a skilful delivery which nipped down the slope at London Road. Taylor then removed new batsmen McCoy with a similar delivery and Andover had a slim chance of victory with Havant at 60 for 2 off 8 overs. However this hope was swiftly extinguished as Havant pair Ransley (59) and Stone (13) rotated the strike and hit the odd boundary to take Havant up to the required total.

Andover Cricket Club 1st XI (Sun) Batting
Player Name RunsMB4s6sSRCtStRo
for 10 wickets

(0.0 overs)
Richard TAYLOR b  Gorvin 9
Martin ROBERTS b  Morgan 17
Glyn TREAGUS ct  Morgan 23
Matt KNIGHT Run out  6
Harry BLACKBURN st  Matthews 1
Max SOUTER st  Morgan 2
Mike ADAMS b  Taylor 35
Robbie TAYLOR ct  Morgan 0
Danny FOY ct  Morgan 0
Aidan JANSEN Not Out  0

2nd Round T20 Cup Bowling

Player nameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy
Andrew Gorvin2.0010110.005.00
Josh McCoy3.001800.006.00
Richard Jerry2.001600.008.00
Chris Morgan4.002154.205.25
Brad Taylor3.1011111.003.47
Steve Matthews2.0010110.005.00
Richard Hindley2.002400.0012.00

2nd Round T20 Cup Batting
Player name RMB4s6sSR
for 2 wickets
119 (15.4 overs)
Brad Taylor b  Richard Taylor 32
Stuart Ransley Not Out  59
Josh McCoy b  Richard Taylor 9
Chris Stone Not Out  13
Richard Hindley  
Ben Walker  
Andrew Gorvin  
Cameron Prentice  
Chris Morgan  
Steve Matthews  
Richard Jerry  

Andover Cricket Club 1st XI (Sun) Bowling

Player NameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy
Mike ADAMS2.001500.007.50
Aidan JANSEN3.001800.006.00
Richard TAYLOR4.0039219.509.75
Danny FOY4.002200.005.50
Robbie TAYLOR2.001100.005.50
Glyn TREAGUS0.401000.0015.00

  • Umpire :
  • Scorer :
    Lesley Morgan